Education Dean
Connectedness at the heart of our work
Entrance of our Education building
Entrance at our Education building
Publications of the Faculty of Education
Publications of the Faculty of Education
Office of the Dean

Office of the Dean Home Page

Sechaba Mahlomaholo BA, BEd (UNIN); MED (Harvard); DEd (UWC); UED


Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Education at the University of the Free State


Professor Sechaba Mahlomaholo is a graduate of the Universities of the North, Western Cape and Harvard. He is a National Research Foundation (NRF)-rated Professor of Education. He is currently the Dean of the Faculty of Education at the University of the Free State. His research interests lie in designing strategies mounted on bricolage, Participatory Action Research and Critical Emancipatory Research as theoretical bases. He leads the NRF-sponsored project on the creation of Sustainable Learning Environments in schools. In this Participatory Action Research project, 28 PhD and 22 MEd students participate under the guidance of 15 academics. The project has relationships with the Global Network project (St Petersburg University, Russia), the Post-Colonial Education project (West-Indies University, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Discourse, Power and Resistance project (United Kingdom). Sechaba participates in conferences on an annual basis and has published books and articles in international publications. To date, he has successfully supervised 30 MEd and 20 PhD candidates. He has served as guest editor for the following ISI-indexed, peer-reviewed and accredited journals: the South African Journal of Higher Education (2010 and 2014), the South African Journal of Education (2011), Communitas (2012), the Journal of New Generation Sciences (2012), the Journal for Transdisciplinary Research in Southern Africa (2013) and the Journal of Education Studies (2013). He has been keynote speaker and guest lecturer at the following universities: St Petersburg (Russian Federation), Aalborg (Denmark), Canterbury Christ Church (UK) and Brock (Canada).

Last updated: 02 April 2015 09:45